Assignment 2

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Joanne
    Participant

To create something truly memorable, I believe there should be a degree of shock, impossibility and controversy.
    My father, Andrew Grima did just that in all his jewellery creations until his death last December.
    I was tempted to find a photographer I admired as it would have been more suitable for the subject I am studying. However, I preferred to opt for a subject I understand, an artist I knew very well and admire more than any other.
    My father was seen by many connoisseurs as the doyen of modern jewellery design. Each piece he created was unique, avant-garde, and although no two pieces were alike, they were all recognisable as being a Grima piece.
    His jewellery was seen as works of art, sculpture more than simple adornment for the rich and famous. He was admired by many but not by all. His pieces were large, daring, unusual, and those used to conservative flower brooches, sometimes were converted as they finally understood there was more to jewellery than big diamonds as representation of their wealth.

My father was inspired both by nature and organic things and abstract art and sculpture. His pieces are all three dimensional, never flat and bland. It is for that reason, that I think having his work as inspiration for my photography is not all that far off track. I would like my work to be timeless, controversial and my own.

For the last few years, I have been the photographer for our website (http://www.grimajewellery.com), and this lead me to want to learn more about the art of capturing these beautiful jewels and bring them to life, which I do not think I have managed to do so far. The pictures are probably ok, but I do not think they portray the true, pure beauty and dimension of the pieces.