Assignment 2

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Robert Richard
    Participant

I realize that despite not being an artist I am not without influence in my choice of art. I remember Keith Haring’s use of color in his works back in the mid to late 80s. I had a number of his prints framed in my NY apartment. They were the color theme. I used to decorate the entire studio. His use of color and a simple theme was very appealing to me at that time. I still like simple. Around the same time, Mapplethorpe was making waves with his homoerotic art. I was not really into the explicit photography but when I saw more of his art, I was drawn to his clean, simple use of photography to view natural bodies and flowers. He really has a way of seeing the lines in flower and bodies differently and bringing even more beauty out of them. The flower is so simple an object, and the natural detail is so often overlooked. The art of Mapplethorpe inspires feeling, some good some bad, but it is the response the viewer gets that makes him special. Finally, there is Ansal Adams. I am always amazed by his work. I can stare at his photos and find new detail and nuance. I know this assignment is to identify one influence but I think I have multiple influences. I will never be an artist like Herring. I cannot draw. Nevertheless, I can appreciate his lines and color. I love the way Mapplethorpe explored the detail of lines and curves in the human form as well as flowers in many of his collections. Then I think of photographic art that can tell multiple stories; I think of Adams. We see beautiful scenery all the time. However, being able to capture this beauty on film is a real talent. At art galleries, I am drawn to the landscapes and enjoy a scene that has a feel or tells a story. I enjoy art that grows on me. I like to notice new things about a piece years after my initial viewing. Adams’s art is just that.