Assignment #2 – Inspiration

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Kiva
    Participant

I will divide my inspirations into two paragraphs, primarily because I studied art before I studied photography and feel that I have been heavily influenced by painters as well as photographers.

I was most greatly influenced by the impressionists, Monet, Degas, Van Gough and Lautrec among others. Monet’s ability to create movement with color, Van Gough using heavy applications of paint to make his painting look almost three dimensional. One of my favorite works is Degas Absinthe. The painting is inherently sad, the downtrodden look on the woman’s face, her down cast sad eyes looking lost in thought while sitting in a dingy room with a glass of absinthe in front of her. The slackness of her shoulders, her clothes looking slightly worn, it all adds up to make you feel empathy for her even thought there is no clear reason for her to be so sad. I am in awe of the ability fo make others feel that kind of emothion with their art. To make someone smile or feel sadness are equally impressive, to derive emotion from others with something you create is a special talent.