finding inspiration

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Julie-Anne
    Participant

“Photography is a way of feeling, of touching, of loving. What you have caught on film is captured forever… it remembers little things, long after you have forgotten everything.”
    (Aaron Siskind)

As a photography student, I think back to who was the first to interest me in photography. The first person that had me picking up my camera every chance I had, to capture all the beautiful moments, was my daughter. From the time I brought her home and presently still today. Three years later, I now have two beautiful daughters. I find myself trying to capture the moments the way I see them. I would like to be able to bring their character and emotion to my pictures. Pictures are memories. If lost, the memories may be forgotten. When asked which famous photographer inspired me as an artist, it would have to be Anne Geddes.

Anne Geddes was born in Australia and is a self-taught photographer. She started doing photography in her back yard, aspirating of being well known portraits photographer in her town. She soon realized which subjects she wanted to concentrate on. Anne Geddes is known and is famous for her stylized depiction of babies and motherhood. Her work is seen in many places, calendars, cards and posters. She was once told by a London editor that she would have to broaden her portfolio. But her love of babies and photography has been successful. She has become famous because of her strong belief in the appeal of her subject and her evolving ability to capture them in new and interesting ways. Babies make people smile.