National Geographic…my biggest inspiration

Photography Classes Online – Icon Photography School Forums Photography Lessons Lesson 2 National Geographic…my biggest inspiration

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Andre
    Participant

Who is my favorite photographer? Now that´s a really tricky question. As a Swede, one photographer that comes to mind is Lennart Nilsson. His photos of the human body is truly amazing . Mr Nilsson is truly a great photographer, but I honestly can´t say that he´s my biggest inspiration. In fact, I can´t name a single person that I like the most. Instead, my greatest inspiration to photography is National Geographic. In my opinion, a photo of a green lizard in Borneo can be as beautiful as a photo of a crying woman in Iraq, or a misty morning in Finland, or a photo of a bicycle in Paris. National Geographic combines all of this and so much more.

As I´m in the beginning of my career as a photographer I have not yet found my personal niche. I can spend hours looking at photos at nationalgeographic.com and I find most of the photos amazing. I believe this ambivalence approach to photography can be both a strength and a weakness. The good part is that I have a open mind to all sorts of photography, the bad part however is that it can be difficult to become an expert in one field when ones mind is divided into many different interests.

If I have to pick one image that have really affected me it would be the image taken by Steve McCurry called Afghan girl. The image was on the cover of NatGeo in 1985 and it´s a true master piece. I thought about exactly WHAT it is that makes it a master piece and my conclusion is that the best part of the image is the ”mood” that the photographer has captured. The image is telling us so many things and you can almost feel what the young woman is thinking.